To ride a motorcycle in Texas, you must follow the motorcycle laws for helmets, passengers and have proof of financial responsibility or the minimum liability insurance. We serve motorcyclists for all of their insurance needs at TAB Insurance Agency LLC.
Helmet laws were created for your safety while riding. You must wear a helmet unless you are a minimum of 21 years old and you have health insurance to cover medical and hospital costs if you are in an accident. This is the same law for both a rider and a passenger.
You must complete a motorcycle safety course to apply for a motorcycle license in Austin, TX, also known as a Class M license. This can be waived if you are already licensed to ride a motorcycle in another state.
Applicants must be 15 years old to get a Class M license and they need to complete a 32-hour course in advance of the application process. They may be given a provisional license in which they can only operate a 250 cubic centimeter piston displacement for a year before securing a non-conditional license. All Class M applicants must complete a driving test on the road.
The great state of Texas requires all motorcycle drivers to prove their financial responsibility in the case of an accident that they cause. For most individuals, the easiest method of this is to obtain motorcycle insurance.
The minimum liability insurance to carry for a motorcycle is expressed as 60/25/30, meaning it must cover $60,000 for bodily injury coverage per accident, $25,000 in property damage coverage for each accident, and $30,000 for bodily injury coverage for each person injured in an accident.
At TAB Insurance Agency LLC, we realize the motorcycle laws and insurance requirements may be a bit confusing. You can contact us by phone or come by the office near Austin, TX in Frisco to get any additional information you may need. We are here to serve you.